A PoemTo Those I Love

If I don’t wake tomorrow, Please don’t feel sad for me

I have gone to my own heaven, A place I want to be.

If I leave life too suddenly, Remember not of me

Remember just the living, And the pain they have to see.

If I don’t wake tomorrow, Please help the little ones

They look to you for guidance, So be their shining sun

Strive to be non-judgemental, Encourage more than blame

Give hope and cheer to everyone, We all have needs the same

If I don’t wake tomorrow, Please leave me in the past

For I don’t have a future, And memories fade real fast

See the dawn as the day is born, And the dreams you try to grasp

Life holds hope for the living, And will deliver all you ask

If I don’t wake tomorrow, I’ll be quietly at rest

No pain or disappointments, And never any stress

If I don’t wake tomorrow, Please don’t feel sad for me

I have gone to my own heaven, A place I want to be.

Originally written January 1, 2004

*

Leave a Reply

